top of page
11cameronhaigh11

PGCE Application

Updated: Apr 19, 2022


For my next stages after my 3rd year I need to look at and apply for PGCE courses and also get an understanding of everything that I need for 2022/23 to achieve the best outcome for myself I can. The first thing I wanted to look at was the bursaries that the courses offer along with where first offers the course I want to apply for to see what grades they required.

After narrowing the list down I had to decide on an aspirational university, realistic and a safe option in case something was to go wrong with my work and not get the grade I needed. Next I applied for all of them and they got back to me offering me an interview for their courses. My realistic option which was Manchester Metropolitan University gave me a week to prepare for the interview and gave me a little heads up of what it would contain. The first step I took was to talk to my lecturer about the idea that I had as she has had experience in teaching before, this helped confirm that what I wanted to look into was a good idea.

For the next week I developed a presentation based on all of the skills I have picked up through the years in how to plan a lesson for a secondary school class. When presenting my presentation the interviewer said I was very clear and concise and explained everything in detail and was overall a good presentation. However for the next portion of the interview he wanted to ask some scenario based questions which made me think on my toes to answer his questions based on what I thought was right and previous knowledge.

To conclude he said he can offer me the place either outright or on the condition of completing a skill enhancement course. I decided it would be better overall if I accepted this course as it gives me the ability to widen my subject knowledge to better myself in the future and develop some skills in areas of design I have not done since High School. Overall the application process for PGCE’S has allowed me to develop my skill in the course and also with my presentation skills which will be needed for a module on my course and in the future when it comes to teaching students as a teacher.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Home

bottom of page