top of page
11cameronhaigh11

Opening Statement

Updated: Apr 19, 2022


I am currently studying product design at the university of Chester. Through my years at the university and 6th form I have formed an interest for teaching and sharing my knowledge I have picked up with others. Going through this blog I will identify what skills I have picked up, where my weaknesses are and also my research in the wider world related to my future career aspirations.

Over my time at the university I have developed my skills with CAD (Computer Aided Design.) when I first started university my CAD knowledge was very limited as I had only done research on it and not any practical work. While in my second year of university we completed a CAD project which required us to make a 1:1 scale of a bottle of our choosing and this allowed me to develop them largely as it was a big challenge to get over as it
required a very small tolerance for sizes
and this project also allowed me to develop my
patience and what can come of it when completed.

One of my greatest strengths I have managed to cement during university is my design process when making a product. During second year we had a design project that required us to use concrete. This project required us to go from ideation to sketching and testing the material, development and making a final product which for me was a lampshade that incorporated a variety of materials. This project not only acknowledged our design process but also tested our organisation and time management skills as this project was mainly self-run with check-ins each week.

During my final year of university I would like to develop my research method understanding and show off my CAD and manufacturing skills to help me develop a strong portfolio. I also want to get experience in a leadership role I am currently starting this with being the third-year student representative and also a student ambassador for the university and this will help me move onto my next step after university which is a PGCE course.


19 views0 comments

Yorumlar


Home

bottom of page